Favorite — Airframe by Michael Crichton

About the Best Treatise I have ever read on Special Creation in the real world – written by an apparent evolutionist.

Years ago, I discovered Michael Crichton when my husband and I ran across a paper-back copy of Jurassic Park in the grocery store, which we immediately bought, took home, and devoured. I am a bit embarrassed to tell you that Jurassic Park, having dinosaurs in it, began to replace Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice in my regular five-year-reading rotation.

Basically, Jurassic Park is a book about the many problems and complications that arise when man – being fallible, and not as smart as he thinks he is – tries painstakingly to duplicate through genetic manipulation what a loving, all-knowing Creator made perfect the first time with no mistakes. It is written in a fast-paced, very engaging style, with one major flaw: some low language and behaviors have crept into Mr. Crichton’s otherwise very clean writing style. If I could bend the ear of Mr. Crichton momentarily, I would try to very respectfully say, “Sir, you are better than this! Are there not 237 – or more – lively, descriptive words that are both more vivid and less offensive than these few, BORING, short-letter words that you are allowing your characters to rely on? Why not say something along the lines of, ‘This is terrible! I never imagined something so unexpected!’” Or, how about this personal favorite of mine: “Oh, unexpected Sorrow! How unhappily we meet!” Just saying that makes me feel better. It ought to be restated in a book somewhere.

Getting back to Jane Austen, seems to me there have been quite a number of good (and not-so-good) Jane Austen knock-offs. For example, Jane Austen and the Loose Cannon. No, that’s not it! Wait a minute: Jane Austen and the Out-of-Plumb Plumber? Nope. Jane Austen and the Handkerchief Thief.  A real tear jerker!  But the “Jane Austen AND” book I’d really like to see is this one: “Jane Austen and the Recalcitrant Dragons who Stubbornly Refused to Die Uniformly Into Non-Existence on the Rigid and Arbitrary Schedules of Absolute and Irrevocable Extinction Hastily Laid Down by Closed-Minded Evolutionists after said Dragons Disembarked from Noah’s Ark”   Now wouldn’t that be a great read? Not sure that Michael Crichton could be the author for it, though.

Look at the time. Without trying to, I have again digressed.

Getting back to my original idea: One of the most interesting and well-researched treatments of special creation in the real world was actually written by someone who doesn’t seem to embrace the Biblical world-view: Airframe, by Michael Crichton. [As a side note, this just highlights the blatant hypocrisy inherent in the very idea of evolution, for which there can never be found any evidence of “working evolution” in the real world: not in the world of construction, never in my kitchen, nor in the world of writing — Mr. Crichton and other authors, especially evolutionists, work very hard on the books they publish.] The subject of Airframe is one of my favorites: aircraft design. Although I admit that this alone has biased my opinion in its favor, I believe that this is one of Mr. Crichton’s best books. After reading it for the first time in the summer of 2010, I read it two more times until the copy I had finally fell apart and had to be thrown away. I am now on the look-out for a replacement copy.

Besides all the wonderful information this book provides about aircraft design, it is also the greatest expose on media bias in television that I have ever laid eyes to. The Reardon and Malone characters both shocked and enlightened me, and seemed, I am sorry to report, amazingly true-to-life.

As I mentioned earlier, creative and hard-working as Mr. Crichton is, he has allowed low, cheap language (and some questionable behavior, too) to infiltrate another one of his beautiful works. (Just another proof of a fallen world, waiting for redemption!) So, you will need to read it with a black marker if you are reading your own copy. Please do not take the liberty of marking up someone else’s book: that would not be Jesus’ definition of loving your neighbor!

Nevertheless, the underlying focus of the book – the significance of design, manufacturing details, tooling tolerances, design flaws and corresponding corrections, and the consequences of all these things on the world population today – recommends it to anyone contemplating the question of special creation in actual practice.

This entry was posted in Favorite Favorites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

