Honey-Citrus Facial Mask

Did you know that anything you can safely eat, you can probably safely use on your face? (There are some foods that we overfed Americans probably eat on a regular basis that actually are not that safe to eat or contact in any form, but that’s a soap box for another day.)

In the last 10-15 years, I discovered you can make facial masks with ingredients you already have in your refrigerator and pantry. This is one of my favorites.

To prepare, get a very small bowl-like container. Since I found them for a quarter apiece at a garage sale last summer, I have been using saki cups for these masks. They hold just enough mask to cover your face today, then stash the rest in the refrigerator to use again tomorrow. After tomorrow, you’ll want to discard it. (I tried storing my honey facial mask in my medicine cabinet. Once. Because when I got back to it, some sort of long, flying insect had drowned in it. I was so angry that I could have killed that poor bug again if it weren’t already dead.)

If you you don’t have a saki cup for mixing, you might consider using a shot glass. They are sold everywhere and don’t take up a lot of room in the refrigerator.

You can use any honey you have on hand. But the raw, unprocessed honey that you find at the health store or at the farmer’s market will be a lot more effective because the beneficial microbes will not have been cooked out of it. Using a small spoon, dip about a teaspoon of the honey into your tiny container. Feel free to lick the spoon when you are finished with this step.

To the honey, you will want to add just a few drops of raw citrus juice. Maybe three or four drops, because they will really dilute the honey and make it a lot thinner. When I eat grapefruit for breakfast, I like to just squeeze a few drops out of one of the sections, then eat the rest. That way, there’s no messy clean-up. (Whoohoo!)

Using your finger to mix, stir it all together. You can use this by itself, or add a few grains of cinnamon, salt, or cayenne pepper, all of which make your face feel really tingly and good.

Let the mask sit on your face for 10-15 minutes while you relax. Then splash off with water. (Or, you can do as I do and wash it off with a wash cloth. If I don’t, later I find honey in my hair. Sigh.)

There have been times when I was using this mask daily, and times, like recently, when I have fallen off the wagon and need to get going again. But when I do take the trouble, my face always looks and feels great.

You will want to experiment with what you have on hand and pay attention to the way your skin feels as you go along.  A journal may help you here.

Anyway, this facial treatment is just an example of one of the many things God provided for us in the beginning that He knew we would need even before he made mankind.

I should have said earlier that you may want to follow this up with a moisturizer.  My skin has gotten very dry in later years, and I always put on lotion before I do anything else.

Praying this was helpful for you,

Gwennon

This entry was posted in Recipes for Health and Happiness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

