Soothing, Cool Comfort for Sunburns

It’s so early that I hope you won’t be needing this information yet. But if you have a sunburn already, then you don’t want to wait for relief.

Two of my children and I bake red like a lobster when we get too much sun, and the recovery has often been long and painful.

Until I called my friend, Steffie, who said, “Put sour cream on it.”

I was willing. But I was not in a lot of pain, and my situation was not urgent. My eldest daughter, Lizzie, however, was not so lucky. She was red all over and in constant pain.

Eagerly, I told her Steffie’s remedy.

“That’s gross, Mom! Don’t mention it to me again,” she snapped. Or something to that effect.

A few days later, though, when the sunburn was still just a deep red and painful, she said, “I don’t care. Just buy the stuff for me, Mom!”

And our adventures with slathering ourselves on purpose with sour cream had begun. A lot of times, one application left on overnight may be enough. But if the sunburn is especially deep and painful, you may expect to slather on several layers during a single day.

Friends who have tried this have told us that they can smell the sour cream cooking on the burning skin. Unfortunately, that is all true. But relief does come this way, and I don’t know of another home remedy that is as effective for taking the burn out of sunburn as this one.

This is just another example of one of the many things God provided in the Garden of Eden for our benefit when the world was young. Before we even knew we needed it, He in his merciful generosity (aka, “loving-kindness”) had already provided what we needed. God is good! All the time!

Genesis 1:31
“God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. And there was evening, and there was morning, the sixth day.”

Praying for God to show you how to handle the pain in your life,

Gwennon

This entry was posted in Recipes for Health and Happiness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

