Blessing Template for Protecting Purity

(Name of Young Man) and (Name of Young Lady),
In the name of the Lord Jesus
We ask God to give you
Supernatural wisdom and self-control
So that you will treat each other
With absolute respect and purity
And that you will
Protect a holy future
For yourselves,
Whether together or apart,
By being mindful of where various roads eventually lead
And by making a series
Of conscientious and determined decisions
To avoid situations,
People,
And
Entertainments
That might cause you to compromise
A beautiful, peaceful future
In order to
Experience temporary pleasures
At each other’s expense.
May you love each other
Like Christ has loved you:
Purposefully,
Sacrificially,
And
With an eye to future and permanent joy.
In Jesus’ name,
Amen!!!!

by Gwennon, June 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

In case you are wondering what this is all about, let me bend your ears for a minute.  Some young people close to our family are currently dating and considering marriage, but have not made the commitment yet.  But they are spending a lot of time together, and I sometimes worry about where that may lead.

One of my friends said, “Well, what are you going to do?  They’re adults.  They can do what they want.”

Well, you all know that is true.

One thing I don’t want to do is just to throw up my hands and say, “They’re just going to do whatever they do and deal with the consequences later.”  That seems a bit lame.

Instead, I want to pro-actively campaign for their purity.

C.S. Lewis said that every sexual union will be either enjoyed for all eternity, or endured for all eternity.  I don’t know about you, but enjoyment sounds a bit better to me than just endurance.  The wrong sexual unions (those outside God’s prescribed parameters — See Genesis 2 and Song of Solomon) can levy a price of pain and consequences that will follow a person for a lifetime.  Even if no pregnancy results.

I want something better than that for the people I know.

So, this morning, I scripted a blessing that I mean to speak over this dating couple on a regular basis.  And I’ve recruited a couple of friends to speak it with me.

This is based on an obscure New Testament verse in which Jesus says, “They can have what they say”; on a website called “The Father’s Blessing” and on a book called “You Can Have What You Say”.  I leave it to the reader to do his own research here.

Studying my own life and the lives of people I know, it seems that our speech directs the course of our lives much more than we realize.  So, if we are speaking blessings, I think they are more likely to happen.

If you find this useful, I will praise God with you.  If not, I’ll entertain your questions, comments, or scathing rebukes below.

Praying for God to bless you with an eternally joyful future,

Gwennon

This entry was posted in Blessing Templates and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

