July Posting Hiatus

Dear Friends,

Now that July has begun, my family calendar is about to seriously accelerate, as it does every summer. Having had some writing blockages (especially with my Cedric stories), I have decided to declare a one-month posting hiatus here at Special Creation Woman.

If you want to go back through the archives,

I have a sunburn remedy that we have tested at home. There is also a poisonous bite remedy that we also tested, though not on purpose. By the time transportation arrived, there was no longer any need for us to go to the hospital. I am also especially fond of these stories of mine, which I hope you also might enjoy: “The Sampler”; “The Chase”; and “Retreating”.

While I am away, I plan to work on other writing projects,

namely these (for which I would love to have your kindly prayers, if you are so inclined):

Writing several new installments of “Moments with Cedric” so that I can get out of the miserable habit of writing his stories at the last possible moments, and sometimes missing my posting deadlines;

Developing and compiling Cedric’s story into a presentable, cohesive manuscript;

Typing up and printing (not having a printer at home because of my previous and expensive habit as a printer junkie, printing everything in sight) some of my new poems and collecting them into my portfolio; (To be honest, I had probably more than plenty of time, but lost it through disorganization. Sigh.)  Those of you who want to can read some of my poems at mybetterpoems.wordpress.com

Beginning work on two different manuscripts for collections of my acrostic sonnets, one of these with plain (and boring!) Times New Roman script (which, apparently, publishers love for manuscripts that beg to be read). This first copy will also contain the stories behind the poems. The second manuscript will be my acrostics typeset with a variety of fun fonts and colors. A good poem is one thing. But a poem beautifully typeset with fonts and colors that fit the theme and tone of the poem is a thing of artistic beauty that is a joy to behold. Someday, I think I may break down and end up taking a class or two at the college to learn how to do this better.

Having lived most of my life in the miserable camp of continual complainers, I have decided to make a deliberate move hence into The Blessing Culture.  I am currently setting up a new blog to chart my progress here and invite other pilgrims to join me on this journey.  In a few weeks, this blog ought to be somewhat presentable and developed:

theblessingculture.wordpress.com

In addition, I have started crocheting a baby blanket that I hope to get some more work into. If I work diligently and steadily at it, it may be finished in time for Christmas.

Plus, I have a number of detailed cleaning projects that I really need to tackle.

And I have hardly touched any of the lonely pieces in my lovely collection of musical instruments. I especially need to start tuning and practicing the harps. Need your prayers here!

A number of you may have noticed that I currently lack the technical skills to present a fully-functional blog. I want to slow down and start watching the instructional videos that may help me with that. I need, for example, to post my blog roll. But that seems so difficult and intimidating that I have put it off. Now why something probably so simple should appear so completely scary and intimidating to a grown woman in the full light of day is beyond me. But it’s currently the monster in my closet. If any of you know how to help me tame it, you can contact me at gwennonblogs@ymail.com

I am currently following a number of really well-written blogs that have been a blessing to me. A few of these are excellent, and I would like to encourage you to check them out:

Sweetrains.wordpress.com This is the photo blog of a lovely woman named Rene Yoshi, who writes beautifully about faith in Jesus and how it applies to our daily lives. Both Rene’s photography and her writings are beautiful, and dovetail beautifully. I am always refreshed by her writings.

Findingthewriteidea.wordpress.com This is the blog of a very dear friend who has thoughtfully provided a number of interesting and concise writing prompts, thought-provoking quotes, and some beautiful photographs. Writers not knowing where or how to begin their stories need to check out this blog.

The Consolations of Writing. This is a blog by a simply phenomenal English teacher named Matthew Pullar. Before I read his poetry, I had just about begun to despair that modern-day language wranglers could produce any contemporary poetry worth reading. Mr. Pullar writes with an economy of words, yet can skillfully present difficult concepts in a way that they are easily accessible to the masses. If only I had had his thinking and writing skills when I was in high school and college, I might have been able to get through my writing tortures, um, projects, with excellence, instead of having to rely on my grammar and punctuation skills my for grades!  Anyone who reads Mr. Pullar’s writings will immediately feel his IQ rising. Already, I am a better writer because of his influence.

Finally, I would like to recommend the fun and joyful blog, Morning Story and Dilbert. This incredible blog weaves Biblical truth with humor that makes even difficult and painful truths go down easier. It might be likened to the “spoonful of sugar” that makes good preaching even better.

Thank you, Friends, for reading my writings. You are in my thankful prayers.

If I can reasonably serve you in any way, feel free to contact me.

Praying for you,

Gwennon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July Posting Hiatus

  1. Rene Yoshi says:

    Thank you, Gwennon! I’ll have to check out some of those archived posts. I hope you’re enjoying your hiatus.

Leave a Reply

