Words of Wisdom from Cedric

November 1, 2013

Why take the time and trouble to bake the cookie dough and wait for it to have to come out of the oven and cool for a long time,  when you can just eat it raw right away?

This is the kind of wisdom you can expect from a dog!

Thank you for visiting “Words of Wisdom from Cedric”. Please log in at the same time two weeks hence for more sage words from this trusted friend and adviser.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Words of Wisdom from Cedric

  1. Fantastic blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any ideas? Bless you!

    • gwennonr says:

      Dear Friend,

      Thank you so very, very much for your kind words.

      I don’t have a lot of wisdom to share about blogging as I have few technical skills.

      My first idea for you is to simply pray for wisdom. God loves to generously pour out wisdom on His children as they ask for it. James 1:5.

      Second, keep asking for advice. I suspect that someone among your immediate circle of friends or family may be able to advise you.

      I have enjoyed WordPress. However, my lack of computer expertise has greatly limited what I have been able to do. In February, there was to be a free WordPress webinar, which I had hoped to be able to utilize. But immediately before the webinar, my dad died, and instead of building my skills, I was headed out of state to the funeral. If another webinar becomes available, I would like to participate in it. With my current family obligations, my immediate participation is questionable.

      If you have a chance to take a college class, I would encourage you to do so. I had initially contacted the junior college in my neighborhood about a class, but have failed to follow through. Yet. I am hoping that “yet” is the operational word here.

      As you keep seeking God’s will, He will open some doors while at the same time closing others. Don’t worry about the closed doors. Ask God which of the open doors He wants you to approach (advice I would do well to heed myself!).

      One thing that has helped my writings, especially my poetry, is to keep a dedicated notebook (which has since grown to a series of notebooks), close to my bed or my desk. If the words start tumbling in, I can grab the notebook and capture them before they get away. You can always re-write something after you have a first draft. But if an idea fades, there is sometimes no re-capturing it. On the other hand, if I am especially tired (too tired to get up and start writing, or afraid to disturb my husband if he is already asleep), or if I am driving the car, I pray, “Lord, I dedicate these words to Your care. Please give them back to me when I am able to write them down.” You can also use your cell phone to capture short lines or ideas. I have done this several times with good results.

      When writing a story, the key is to capture your audience with the first line. This is the one thing I remember from the creative writing class I took over 20 years ago. If you don’t grab your audience immediately, they will drift on to more interesting readings. Pray for wisdom here. Sometimes the first line comes at the beginning of your writings. Other times, you will have a completed article that requires excessive, extensive deliberation for that elusive first line. Don’t hurry at this point. If you need to wash dishes or fold laundry while letting the article rest, your mind will often relax and finish the work when you aren’t looking. I keep stashes of paper and pens all over the house for just such occasions.

      See if you are able to join or form your own writer’s group. Writers love to give other writers free advice. The only problem (as you can see here) is knowing how to get us to stop talking!

      Oh, one more thing: before I started my blogging, I began composing several different articles on my computer that I planned to use later, labeling some “opinion pieces” and others “short story”, “poem for blog posting”, etc. You get the general idea. I also keep a couple of running computer logs for my posts: “Log of Blog Postings” and “Log of Poem Postings”. This has helped me get an idea of what I have already written, and what I want to write later. It has also prevented me from using the same title for more than one poem. And in building my poetry portfolio, I can refer to my log to see what I need to print, compared to what I already have compiled. Right before I upload a new post, I open the corresponding log, which I keep in alphabetical order, adding the date of posting immediately after the title. For example, on my poetry blog, on Friday, when I wrote a poem I wanted to post, my log entry was as follows: Misplaced — September 19, 2014. “Misplaced” was the title of the poem, and the 19th was the date I was attempting to post it. With occasionally-spotty internet coverage, these dates sometimes have to be adjusted. Before I posted the poem, I highlighted that line in yellow, to show that whereas I was planning to post that particular poem, I had not yet done it. After posting, I go back through (sometimes days later) and remove the highlighting. At the end of the logs, I make a small separation, and begin lists of blog posts I want to either develop if they are not already written, or save for certain times of the year. This year, I had planned to post some flower poems on my poetry blog, but because of scheduling problems and a series of very distracting distractions, I decided to hold on to those poems until next spring.

      Don’t know how helpful these things may be, but you will at least have my prayers. May God grant you every success. And may you always know how very much God loves you, regardless of how much or how little writing (or other accomplishments) you are able to complete!

      You are God’s much-loved, very special creation!

      Hang on to Jesus!

      Praying for you,

      Gwennon

    • gwennonr says:

      Dear Friend,

      Thank you so very, very much for your kind words.

      I don’t have a lot of wisdom to share about blogging as I have few technical skills.

      My first idea for you is to simply pray for wisdom. God loves to generously pour out wisdom on His children as they ask for it. James 1:5.

      Second, keep asking for advice. I suspect that someone among your immediate circle of friends or family may be able to advise you.

      I have enjoyed WordPress. However, my lack of computer expertise has greatly limited what I have been able to do. In February, there was to be a free WordPress webinar, which I had hoped to be able to utilize. But immediately before the webinar, my dad died, and instead of building my skills, I was headed out of state to the funeral. If another webinar becomes available, I would like to participate in it. With my current family obligations, my immediate participation is questionable.

      If you have a chance to take a college class, I would encourage you to do so. I had initially contacted the junior college in my neighborhood about a class, but have failed to follow through. Yet. I am hoping that “yet” is the operational word here.

      As you keep seeking God’s will, He will open some doors while at the same time closing others. Don’t worry about the closed doors. Ask God which of the open doors He wants you to approach (advice I would do well to heed myself!).

      One thing that has helped my writings, especially my poetry, is to keep a dedicated notebook (which has since grown to a series of notebooks), close to my bed or my desk. If the words start tumbling in, I can grab the notebook and capture them before they get away. You can always re-write something after you have a first draft. But if an idea fades, there is sometimes no re-capturing it. On the other hand, if I am especially tired (too tired to get up and start writing, or afraid to disturb my husband if he is already asleep), or if I am driving the car, I pray, “Lord, I dedicate these words to Your care. Please give them back to me when I am able to write them down.” You can also use your cell phone to capture short lines or ideas. I have done this several times with good results.

      When writing a story, the key is to capture your audience with the first line. This is the one thing I remember from the creative writing class I took over 20 years ago. If you don’t grab your audience immediately, they will drift on to more interesting readings. Pray for wisdom here. Sometimes the first line comes at the beginning of your writings. Other times, you will have a completed article that requires excessive, extensive deliberation for that elusive first line. Don’t hurry at this point. If you need to wash dishes or fold laundry while letting the article rest, your mind will often relax and finish the work when you aren’t looking. I keep stashes of paper and pens all over the house for just such occasions.

      See if you are able to join or form your own writer’s group. Writers love to give other writers free advice. The only problem (as you can see here) is knowing how to get us to stop talking!

      Oh, one more thing: before I started my blogging, I began composing several different articles on my computer that I planned to use later, labeling some “opinion pieces” and others “short story”, “poem for blog posting”, etc. You get the general idea. I also keep a couple of running computer logs for my posts: “Log of Blog Postings” and “Log of Poem Postings”. This has helped me get an idea of what I have already written, and what I want to write later. It has also prevented me from using the same title for more than one poem. And in building my poetry portfolio, I can refer to my log to see what I need to print, compared to what I already have compiled. Right before I upload a new post, I open the corresponding log, which I keep in alphabetical order, adding the date of posting immediately after the title. For example, on my poetry blog, on Friday, when I wrote a poem I wanted to post, my log entry was as follows: Misplaced — September 19, 2014. “Misplaced” was the title of the poem, and the 19th was the date I was attempting to post it. With occasionally-spotty internet coverage, these dates sometimes have to be adjusted. Before I posted the poem, I highlighted that line in yellow, to show that whereas I was planning to post that particular poem, I had not yet done it. After posting, I go back through (sometimes days later) and remove the highlighting. At the end of the logs, I make a small separation, and begin lists of blog posts I want to either develop if they are not already written, or save for certain times of the year. This year, I had planned to post some flower poems on my poetry blog, but because of scheduling problems and a series of very distracting distractions, I decided to hold on to those poems until next spring.

      Don’t know how helpful these things may be, but you will at least have my prayers. May God grant you every success. And may you always know how very much God loves you, regardless of how much or how little writing (or other accomplishments) you are able to complete!

      You are God’s much-loved, very special creation!

      Hang on to Jesus!

      Praying for you,

      Gwennon

Leave a Reply

