Who Should Not Eat Grapefruit

BEFORE WE BEGIN, I HAVE TO SAY THAT YOUR PERUSAL OR USE OF ANY OF THE INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN CONSTITUTES YOUR CONSENT TO HOLD AUTHOR AND SOURCES INNOCENT OF ANY AND ALL MEDICAL LIABILITY.  YOU HAVE THE LEGAL RIGHT AND RESPONSIBILITY TO CHOOSE YOUR OWN MEDICAL PATH, AND TO SELF-MEDICATE.  HOWEVER, YOU ARE WELL-ADVISED TO SEEK HELP FROM REAL HEALTH-CARE PROFESSIONALS.  DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH.  AND SEEK ADVICE FROM SOMEONE WHO HAS BEEN EDUCATED IN THE HEALTH FIELD. 

Now that you are taking responsibility for your own health, I have to say that there are any number of people who absolutely should not eat grapefruit at any time or in any form: most of these people are taking some sort of medicine or other pharmaceutical preparation, whether prescribed or not. Grapefruit often interacts dangerously with prescribed and over-the-counter medications. But, because of the extensive diversity of body types and individual body chemistries, a lot of these dangerous interactions are discovered by accident after the untimely death of the victim who had no idea he was endangering himself. Because the variables leading to these tragedies are currently too extensive to safely track, it is often better to be safe than sorry.

So, if you are taking pharmaceuticals or medications of any kind, it is now time for you to leave this blog, and go on to other reading material that would better repay the investment of your reading time. I would like to suggest Charlotte Hoather’s blog (lovely Scottish opera singer), or “The Consolations of Writing: Words to Bridge the Gap Between Faith and Life” by Matthew Pullar. There is also “Sweet Rains” by Rene Yoshi, or “Heavenly Raindrops” by Sue Nash.

Have you gone on to these other, much safer blogs?

Good!

Now, for the rest of us, let me tell you about my recent adventures in grapefruit.

My adventure did not start with grapefruit.

It started with vital breaks in the genetic codes that normally protect from breast cancer and other female health troubles.

Years ago, when I was just 23, my first mother died from cancer. It had started in the breast (one of which my mother had surgically removed), seemed to disappear altogether for a couple of years, then showed up later in the liver, where it systematically cruelly and very painfully disabled my mom over the course of about three more years, before finally killing her.

My mom’s problems did not start, however, when the breast cancer was discovered.

I think it started much earlier, when I was about eight years old. At this time, although I am not exactly sure what happened (my mom died before I knew to ask her these questions, and my dad, having progressive memory loss, cannot answer these things for me), I remember that my mom was in the hospital for at least a couple of weeks, during which time my dad shuttled my brother and me daily among various relatives and friends, while he went to see her for several hours each day. Those were sad times.

I also remember that this was the year that my parents chopped down our ailing apricot tree. Never having been a fan of apricots, I didn’t grieve too heavily for the tree, although it had been a great tree for little girls to climb in on sunny days.

I found out in the last couple of years that eating apricots destroys cancer cells in the breast. Now that I know this, I think that as long as my mother had a steady source of apricots to protect her health, she was able to keep breast cancer at bay. When her cancer was discovered ten years later, her doctors told her that it had probably been developing quietly over a ten year period. Coincidence?

Even though it is an acquired taste, and it has been taking me some time to acquire it, I have started eating dried apricots several times per week.  This is only a recent development.

But healthy women do not live by apricots alone.  In spite of the apricots, for the last five years, I have been noticing some scary pains that I have no good explanations for. Multiple medical tests revealed only an insatiable appetite for funds to pay for continued testing, compared to the monies available in our bank accounts.

This in spite of the fact that my husband’s employer had been paying something in the neighborhood of $8000 to $10,000 per year for health insurance for my family.  Just so we won’t be uninsured.   That’s money that goes out whether or not we use the insurance.  It doesn’t even help with the co-payments.  So, year after year, with nothing to show for it, enough money goes out to buy my family a new harp or small grand piano every year. Or a pretty reliable used car. Just thinking about all this money going out for absolutely nothing in return makes me feel a bit sick by itself. But that’s a post for another day.

Getting back to diagnosis and treatment options, I prayed and wondered if there might be another way to address these issues.

As an avid reader, people watcher, and endless questioner, I continued to pray, read as much as possible, and study the actions and results of the people around me.

One thing I did know already: after watching three of my husband’s and my four original parents go through traditional medicine to combat cancer, with little good to show for it, highlighted by two heart-wrenching funerals, my confidence in traditional medicine had taken quite a hit. If other options were available, I was ready to try them.

About a year ago, I read about a grapefruit fast in a women’s magazine. The article mentioned that people wanting to lose weight could go on a one-day grapefruit fast, eating up to 5 grapefruits during that day, with no ill effects.

One line of the article really got my attention: grapefruit kills cancer cells.

At the health store, someone told me that every body — yes, each body alive — these days has some level of cancer cells active in it.  The problems begin when the cancer cells start to organize, increase in number, then encroach on healthy tissues.

Considering that there was a chance I had some disposable cancer cells to go ahead and kill, I decided to try it. Armed with several grapefruits, and an arsenal of various teabags, I plunged right in.

Well, there was no spontaneous or significant weight loss.

On the other hand, unlike a liver and gall-bladder cleanse I had done a year earlier, I also had no need to stay home and get to know my bathroom fixtures on a first-name basis. Life went on, and it went on just as conveniently away from my house, as it did at home.

As a raging chocoholic, I have to say that I did not particularly enjoy my one-day grapefruit fast. And as it had not brought any immediate or especially impressive results, I questioned the validity of repeating the experience. Why give up so much eating pleasure if big health conquests weren’t in the offing?

However, days later, I noticed that one of my health complaints was not as obvious or distressing as it had been before the fast.

I decided to try it again a couple of weeks later.

(As a side note, I would like to tell you all that the grapefruit fast should not be continued for more than a day or so at a time because of nutritional deficiencies that set in in just a short amount of time.  Fruitatarians, people who sustain themselves eating only fruits, typically destroy their health in just two or three short years.  You still need the other food groups.  Not, of course, the white sugar group, which drives cancer and other problems.  But you should definitely keep eating meat, veggies, dairy, and grains on a regular basis.)

I repeated the one-day grapefruit fast a couple of weeks after that.

But loving the tastes of too many foods too much (had my stomach become my god? I have learned from painful experience that even the best, most well-behaved stomach – which mine is certainly not! – is not a worthy or reliable god upon which to base one’s life), I did not continue the fasts.

More health issues and complaints began moving in.

I was sleeping more, but enjoying it less. My energy levels dropped. I almost quit blogging altogether.

And I finally went to the doctor when the complaints became just too much.

I learned some things that scared me.

We are still working to pay the co-payments for the bad news.

I told my husband I felt better in my body when I did the grapefruit fasts.

But I had trained myself to give in to chocolate a bit too often. The amount of self-control I needed was more than I had. Maybe my husband could help me? As a matter of fact, he could. Wanting more Christmas money, I asked my husband to sponsor me for a certain amount of Christmas money every Tuesday, the day I would devote to the grapefruit diet. Recognizing that this money was considerably less than he would be paying for my hospitalization and other treatments if the health complaints were allowed to gain the upper hand, he happily complied with my requests.

I have now been eating only grapefruit (along with whatever sugar-less teas I can brew myself) once a week for about 5 weeks. (I am sometimes flavoring these teas with a bit of coconut oil, which also kills parasites and other cancer-drivers.) It is getting a bit easier each week as I consider the health benefits. Things are not improving as quickly as I would have liked. However, I do believe that I am moving both my health and my character in a healthier direction than they had been moving earlier.

And tomorrow is GRAPEFRUIT DAY again.

If any of you want to pray for me for both self-control, and healthy, fun distractions from the siren-songs of unhealthy foods, I would appreciate that more than I can say.

Thanks!

You are all in my thankful prayers.

Raising a grapefruit to you all,

Gwennon

P.S. Information on grapefruit fasting can be found through Dr. Ann Louise Gittleman. You can visit her website at http://www.annlouise.com

This entry was posted in Recipes for Health and Happiness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

