My One-Year Slow Walk Away from White Sugar

My slow walk away from white sugar began today. For personal and health reasons, I have decided that this is the year that I will be replacing the poisonous white crystals in my diet with the following healthier sugars: raw honey, blackstrap molasses, maple syrup, agave nectar, and stevia.

My primary reason for doing this is that I just want to feel better. For years, I have been tired all the time. Circulation issues have begun to introduce themselves, too, all fed, no doubt, by a diet that is way out of balance. Some years ago, when my husband gave me a starter dulcimer, I used to be able to practice it – not well, but with a lot of joy – for over an hour at a time. Last year, when he gave me a larger dulcimer with much better sound, I was shocked that because of tender tendons, I can now practice only a few short minutes at a time; followed by sore fingertips with string-creases that linger for a while before fading. Poor circulation also makes playing the harp harder, and if I have cuts in my fingers, next to impossible.

So, it seems that poor diet has hijacked both my health and my joy-building hobbies. That poor diet needs to change. Feel free to pray for me, if you want.

Tonight, my husband announced he was going to the store for a new supply of coffee and asked if I wanted anything. Before today, I would have deliberated on exactly which kind of candy bar to ask for. Instead, I found myself telling him that my heart’s desire was a container of small tomatoes. I am not planning to share the tomatoes.

I would love to hear how you are improving your diet and what non-sugary foods you enjoy that are easy to prepare.

May God bless you in this new year.

Best Regards,

Gwennon

This entry was posted in natural remedies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

