What? No Dulcimer Drama?

What? No Dulcimer Drama?

Day 6 of the 21-day hormone reset diet  (my ongoing attempt to live out the teachings of Dr. Sara Gottfried’s book, The Hormone Reset Diet)

Alas, I have had neither the time nor the energy to attack the dulcimer story I wanted to share earlier.

No one tells you how badly you are going to feel when you give yourself over to a massive sugar addiction for way too many years. And no one tells you how entirely miserable you are going to be while trying to reverse the process.

Whereas some symptoms in my catalog of ailments are fading – and this is the only reason I have stayed motivated to keep on this long, uphill dietary climb—the fatigue and emotional trauma has been heavy. I have heard it said, “Toxic foods lead to toxic emotions.” And that is true. On the other hand, while a person strives to cleanse out some of the built-up toxins, as the released toxins are again re-circulating before being eliminated, the moods may just spiral out. I think I may have been literally and physically happier if I had gone ahead and done a colon flush at night with a lemon-salt-water solution which I had been formerly reluctant to do it because of the bathroom commitment it would require. With the colon flush, you and your bathroom can count on getting to know one another on a first name basis. It is exhausting.

On the other hand, not getting rid of the toxins as they are re-released is similarly exhausting.

Part of the problem is that instead of having a complete copy of Dr. Sara Gottfried’s book in my hands, I have only an abbreviated version in a magazine article that I keep close. It’s good. But incomplete. I never order things online. And by the time the Bible bookstore can get me a copy, my cleansing time will have ended for this year. However, since I plan to do this cleanse as a sort of yearly tune-up, I probably should go ahead and order the book anyway, put it into my permanent library, and study it religiously when my next season of this cleanse comes around.

I have also decided that since graduations, Mother’s Day, and so many other “food” holidays come up in the month of May, I will probably work to schedule this dietary reset for the end of March and the first two weeks of April next year.

My hand that I injured a week ago is starting to heal. I am discouraged that it is not healing faster, regardless of the raw honey and regular dressing changes. Circulation problems that this cleanse are supposed to improve are probably to blame. Another reason to keep keeping on. Even though the enjoyment is fading. Nevertheless, I do have to say that the pain reports I have been receiving from my injured hand have been decreasing both in frequency and intensity. That has to be good.

Some more encouraging news is that I learned how to make absolutely delicious baked broccoli last night. I think I may have overbaked it into something less than fully nutritious. But it was so delicious that I almost didn’t miss the chocolate I have not been eating since Sunday night. This is what I did:

I thinly sliced a whole stalk of broccoli,
Squeezed fresh lemon juice over the pieces in a baking dish;
Sprinkled a bit of sea salt over it all;
Shook a cautious amount of ground cumin over all;
Added a drizzle of olive oil on top,
And baked it all at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for about 40 minutes.

Yep. I used my entire fat-allowance for the meal on these pieces of broccoli, which baked down, shrank, and crisped up into the most delicious broccoli morsels imaginable.

Whatever the nutritional outcome of said recipe, I think we may all be able to agree that it was at least more nutritious than a pre-packaged chocolate bar, and a lot less objectionable than other pre-processed vegetables that we can be sure contain many more ingredients than just five on the label (and perhaps hundreds that are not even included on the label).

The very sore throat I was getting over earlier this week seems to be coming back.  I have no idea what that is all about.  Maybe I need to be drinking more lemon-juice-water.  Sigh.

In other news, one of my health symptoms that had been giving me a great deal of grief and aggravation over the years has finally started fading. Without detailing exactly what it is, let me just say that it was something I had no idea how to treat. And now it seems to be either gone. Or almost gone. This is yet another reason that I must conclude that this cleanse is working to my advantage.

But I will be so glad when I have completed this 21-day cleanse cycle. Last night I told my husband, Sergei, “Sixteen more days of total deprivation. Then I move on to grapefruit!”

I am planning a one-day grapefruit fast after the cleanse is over. Because I will need to do no cooking and very little food prep, the grapefruit cleanse looks like an oasis from here.

For the next year, after this cleanse is complete, I hope to do a one-day grapefruit fast to continue moving out toxins and killing off disposable (and I think I may have more than I realize at the time) cancer cells.

OH. NOW WOULD BE A GREAT TIME FOR ME TO AGAIN REMIND ALL READERS THAT IF YOU ARE TAKING ANY MEDICINES, PLEASE DO NOT EAT ANY GRAPEFRUIT. GRAPEFRUIT/MEDICINAL REACTIONS CAN BE FATAL BEFORE THE VICTIM EVEN SUSPECTS THERE MAY BE A PROBLEM.
SO, IF YOU ARE ON ANY MEDICATIONS, YOU WILL WANT TO NOT EAT GRAPEFRUIT UNTIL SAID MEDICATIONS ARE COMPLETELY OUT OF YOUR SYSTEM. (I USUALLY ALLOW MYSELF AT LEAST TWO OR THREE WEEKS FOR THIS, BUT YOU SHOULD DISCUSS THIS WITH YOUR OWN HEALTHCARE PROVIDER BEFORE YOU MAKE ANY DECISIONS TO INCLUDE GRAPEFRUIT IN YOUR DIET. IF YOU HAVE BEEN ON ANY MEDICATION FOR MANY MONTHS OR YEARS, YOU MAY NEED TO WAIT MONTHS OR EVEN YEARS BEFORE YOU CAN AGAIN SAFELY EAT GRAPEFRUIT.)

As I was saying earlier, the fatigue from cleansing has been pretty severe for me. That’s probably because I was so completely given over to white sugar and other food additives. Other people may not have so much trouble making the change, and if that is the case for you, I hope you are praising God around the clock for this wonderful blessing.

Said fatigue, coupled with long-term circulation problems, which led to tendon issues, has kept me from a number of the things I love. Simple things. Easy things. Things that most people do without even realizing what a privilege they enjoy in this mobility. But I will detail that later in my “Tale of Two Dulcimers”. Let me plan to compose this charming tale by at least Monday night or Tuesday afternoon so that I can post it for your perusal on Wednesday.

And if anyone here is unhappy with the delay, I would like to tell you that yesterday was a three-poem-day, which finished up a week of several unexpected poems that urgently clamored to be typeset, posted, and distributed. If anyone is interested in a couple of these, you can find them on my poetry blog at http://www.mybetterpoems.wordpress.com
I especially enjoyed writing (and reading!) “Excused Absence” which probably ought to be read in a 5-year-old voice.

Getting back to the cleanse, today has been Day Six of the reset. I have completed the estrogen reset portion of the program, and after tonight will have completed the insulin reset portion, too. That will leave only five segments to complete! Whoohoo! Except that each segment is three days long. Those of you who are so inclined, please feel free to pray for me!

This entry was posted in Recipes for Health and Happiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

