My New Latest Favorite Song

I am posting this under “True Confessions Thursday” although it is actually late Wednesday night. But tomorrow morning, since i plan to be very busy cooking and cleaning, and will presumable be too otherwise-occupied to get back to my computer until much, much later, I am planning to pretend I posted this then. You are welcome to do the same. : )

(Ahem!)

My Latest New Favorite Song

This changes all the time. With the days. With the seasons. After I have seen a new movie.

A couple of months ago I again watched the movie “Joshua”, a modern-day parable about what might happen if Jesus were to show up in our world today. It was so well written, well-characterized, and engaging. And the musical score was impeccable. I was totally enraptured.

Part-way through the action, a snippet of the most beautiful song played, but I couldn’t find it anywhere in the credits. Don’t know whether to blame this on the song actually being uncredited. Or if a new glasses prescription is more urgent than I had previously realized.

Anyhoo, to make a short story long, after backtracking several times, paying careful attention to the lyrics, and praying desperately to find the song online, I was able to track it down: “Excavate” by Wes King. I especially adore the words “The things you love become a part of you.” That is just so true. I am constantly finding my heart reshaping itself around a new interest, book, or hobby that engages me. (Later, I found that the words had been changed to “The things you love own a part of you”. Which is also true. But, I felt, not quite as powerful.)

Whenever I love a new song, I try to play it on the harp. In years past, I have captured several songs from the radio, including Fernando Ortega’s “Give Me Jesus” (a song I hope to have played at my funeral someday), Mark Lowry’s “Mary, Did You Know”, and Chris Tomlin’s new “Jesus Loves Me”. Because my skillset is nearly as small as my patience, I am able to wrap my fingers around only songs with very simple melody lines. But to my joy, “Excavate” is one of the songs I have been able to add to my little pirated collection.

Please note that I am not recording these songs, and, being more than painfully shy, I play them mostly in private just for myself and Jesus. Occasionally, I may have the courage and the opportunity to play briefly for friends at the house or someplace close to home. Also, my friend Myra from the theater group I played in in the year 2011 tells me that so long as I play the music as I hear it in my head (and don’t buy the music to re-release and re-sell the song), I am not violating copyright restrictions. Which is a real relief. Because as everyone knows, copyright violations are not a good way to love one’s neighbor.

Moving right along, if you want to hear the song for yourself, to my overjoyed overjoyful joy, tonight I discovered that YouTube has just posted a beautiful acoustic version of Wes King’s “Excavate”. Tomorrow I hope to buy it with the iTunes card my son “Damien” bought for me for Christmas this year. Which will make a sweet, joyful Christmas even more joyful for me.

Isn’t it amazing how very much joy God provides for us if we just slow down enough to pay attention to it?

Praying for you to find the joy today,

Gwennon
December 28, 2016

This entry was posted in True Confessions Thursday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Latest Favorite Song

  1. 帆布袋 says:

    Aw, this was a very nice post. An idea I want to put in writing is taking more time and effort than I had expected. My procrastination is not helping. Suggestions?

    • gwennonr says:

      Dear Friend,

      Thank you so much for your kind words.

      I think the short answer to your question is to keep working on your article and be patient with yourself. Most of the time I have to write and rewrite my stories six or seven times before I am ready to share them. Even so, I often find errors later that need to be corrected. Keep writing, and be willing to accept feedback, both good and bad, from others. You will get there.

      Thank you so very much for stopping by my blog.

      May God richly bless you!

      Best Regards,

      “Gwennon”

Leave a Reply

