Missing Our New Native Songs: the Homogenization of Modern Church Music

If I told you my church sings exactly the same songs every week, you’d know I was lying. We don’t sing EXACTLY the same songs week after week. We just don’t exactly sing anything belonging to only our fellowship.

Which wouldn’t be a problem if the congregation wasn’t filled with capable poets and musicians. Except ours is.

One of these musicians has created an iTunes album of Bible memory verse songs. Another, a young girl in Bible class has written her own praise songs. Which no one hears week after week, though the children’s ministry enlists the children week after week to sing one song every Sunday morning for the congregation.

Without setting out to do so, I’ve ended up capturing at least a dozen praise songs, and gaped as God sang several of my poems into songs in my heart. A couple of these started as acrostic poems and could be visually stunning as well as spiritually uplifting, if properly produced.

But I’m not wonderful at capturing music notes on paper.

So what are we doing with the music that is birthed HERE in our own fellowship?

Exactly.

I think we can do better, Church!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment